IDEA Disability Categories Overview (GEN41)

This course provides an overview of the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA). Participants will review the purpose of IDEA and the definition of all of the disabilities categories defined in the law. Additional information will be provided on some of the more common disabilities special education staff may encounter including autism, speech or language impairment, emotional disturbance, other health impairment, specific learning disability, multiple disabilities, and intellectual disabilities. Lastly, 10 basic strategies will be introduced that can be utilized across disability categories.

At the completion of this training participants will be able to:
1. Explain the purpose of the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) and how students can qualify for special education.
2. List and define 14 of the 14 different disability categories defined by the IDEA.
3. Explain characteristics commonly associated with Emotional Disturbance (ED), Intellectual disability, Multiple disabilities, Other Health Impairment (OHI), Specific Learning Disability, Autism, and Speech Language Impairment.
4. Describe educational challenges commonly associated with Emotional Disturbance, Intellectual Disability, Multiple Disabilities, Other health impairment, Specific Learning Disability, Autism, and Speech or Language Impairment.
5. List effective strategies that can be utilized when working with individuals with disabilities.
  • Directions
  • Overview of Disability Categories
Completion rules
  • All units must be completed
  • Leads to a certificate with a duration: Forever